Trent Williams Lone Redskin Selected to Pro Bowl

Posted on December 28, 2013 by Harvey Valentine

At least one member of the Washington Redskins will be playing football in January, as tackle Trent Williams has been selected to the Pro Bowl for the second straight year. The NFL announced the Pro Bowl rosters Dec. 27.

"It's a blessing," the 25-year-old Williams said in a statement released by the team. "I'm definitely excited about it. …  It means a lot. It lets me know my efforts didn't go unseen. I know my teammates see it and my teammates feed off of it, but I'm definitely proud to see that my peers around the NFL recognized that also."

Wide receiver Pierre Garçon, cornerback DeAngelo Hall, running back Alfred Morris and linebacker Brian Orakpo were selected as alternates.

Williams, the fourth overall pick in the 2010 draft, is the first Redskins offensive lineman to earn consecutive Pro Bowl selections since Chris Samuels (2005-08).

"Trent through the years has become a true professional," offensive line coach Chris Foerster said. "He continues to prepare and work hard every week. He takes on each game, his individual challenge. He's really developed his preparation every week."

Garcon leads the NFL in receptions with 107 and ranks ninth in yards with 1,290.

Wide receivers chosen included Antonio Brown, Steelers; Dez Bryant, Cowboys; Josh Gordon, Browns; A.J. Green, Bengals; Andre Johnson, Texans; Calvin Johnson, Lions; Brandon Marshall, Bears; and Demaryius Thomas, Broncos.

Morris is fifth in the league in rushing yards with 1,213 and sixth in yards per carry (4.7).

Pro Bowl running backs include Jamaal Charles, Chiefs; Matt Forte, Bears; Frank Gore, 49ers; Marshawn Lynch, Seahawks; LeSean McCoy, Eagles; and Adrian Peterson, Vikings.

Hall is tenth in the NFL with four interceptions, and Orakpo is tied for 14th with 10 sacks.

In an attempt to generate interest in the game, the 2014 Pro Bowl is ‘unconferenced' with players selected without regard to conference in voting by fans, coaches and players.

The rosters for the two teams will be chosen during a ‘Pro Bowl Draft' Jan. 22. Hall of Famers Jerry Rice and Deion Sanders will serve as alumni team captains for their respective squads.

The Pro Bowl will be played Jan. 26, one week before Super Bowl XLVIII, and air on NBC at 7 p.m.

next up:

Terps Fall to Marshall, 31-20, In 2013 Military Bowl

December 27, 2013

Maryland football's 2013 season and 61-year tenure in the ACC came to an end Dec. 27 with a 31-20 loss to Marshall in the 2013 Military Bowl.


D.C. Top Stories

Hoya Lacrosse Preview

Head coach Kevin Warne said this year's team is athletic and ready to make a run.

Stan's Super Bowl Pick

Stan 'The Fan' makes his Super Bowl pick and says Father Time will get the best of Manning.

Position Review: WR

The Washington Redskins finished 12th in the NFL with 4,294 receiving yards.


The Redskins have the 21st pick in the 2016 NFL Draft. How have last 10 No. 21 picks panned out?


Elliott Smith highlights five key questions for the Capitals as they enter season's second half.


Which will be the higher number: Alex Ovechkin's shots on goal Feb. 7 or TDs in Super Bowl 50?


Weekly Newsletters

Sign up to receive's free, weekly email newsletter. Register Now.

Sign up for our new weekly high school lacrosse email, featuring key matchups, recruiting updates and more. Register Now.